The Giant Pile of Paper Method

Nothing gets me in the creative mood better than a cute notebook and a good black pen. Back in school, the doodles I drew in the margins were just as important as my actual notes. I love making lists with drawings and arrows to help me organize my thoughts. My daily morning pages are no doubt brimming with undiscovered writing gems so I keep them all. I stick Post-it notes with interesting quotes and possible story ideas on the walls. In other words, I am drowning in bits of paper.

DSCN9705

As you can imagine, it’s not a functional system. I lose stuff all the time.

Last summer, I made an attempt to clean up my act and use some digital productivity tools. I threw all my paper bits in the recycle and installed Evernote and Todoist on my laptop. I still use Evernote occasionally to clip recipes. But that scheduling program seemed to bring out the rebellious teenager in me. I felt like it was nagging me.

As an artist, I need to draw and doodle. I can’t force myself to use a boring onlineDSCN9700 calender when there are adorable pocket calenders full of doodles by artists from Berlin for sale on Etsy. But having multiple notebooks does not fit in with the digital nomadic lifestyle I envision for myself.

I need to minimize my baggage and stay open-minded to technology updates. As practice, I think I’ll give Evernote another try as I’m planning my trip to cycle tour in Hawaii.

2 thoughts on “The Giant Pile of Paper Method

  1. Evernote didn’t work for me either. Have you tried Wunderlist? I used Toki Doki planners for the last two years, but this year I’m trying to use Wunderlist and my Google Calendars to get me organized. It’s not so bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

